Around Charlotte Things To Do Places To Go People To See Movies log into calendar / register
Search by keyword or venue View Listings For A Day
    space Add Event


Blumenthal Performing Arts Center – Belk Theater


address  130 N. Tryon St.
 Charlotte, NC  28202
cross street Trade St.
phone (704) 333-4686
hours Mon.-Sat. 10am-6pm
www.blumenthalcenter.org

Upcoming Events

The Color Purple

Musical
Based on the award-winning novel by Alice Walker, "The Color Purple" is an inspiring family saga that tells the unforgettable story of a woman, who, through love, finds the strength to triumph over adversity and discover her unique voice in the world. With a moving book by Marsha Norman and a score by Brenda Russell, Allee Willis and Stephen Bray featuring gospel, jazz, ragtime and the blues. New York magazine calls this stunning re-imagining of the epic story "one of the greatest revivals ever."
www.roadcompany.com
Event Website: http://www.ticketsnow.com/InventoryBrowse/TicketList.aspx?PID=2245556
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Sun 7/15/18 at 1:30pm 
 • Sun 7/15/18 at 7pm 

The Book of Mormon

Musical, Comedy
"The Book of Mormon," penned by “South Park” creators Trey Parker and Matt Stone and “Avenue Q's” Robert Lopez, centers on two young Mormon missionaries sent off to spread The Word in a dangerous part of Uganda. The original Broadway production won nine Tony Awards, including Best Musical.
arts;broadway
www.bookofmormonbroadway.com/tour_page.php
Event Website: http://www.ticketsnow.com/InventoryBrowse/TicketList.aspx?PID=2342277
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Tue 7/24/18 at 7:30pm 
 • Wed 7/25/18 at 7:30pm 
 • Thu 7/26/18 at 7:30pm 
 • Fri 7/27/18 at 8pm 
 • Sat 7/28/18 at 2pm 
 • Sat 7/28/18 at 8pm 
 • Sun 7/29/18 at 1:30pm 
 • Sun 7/29/18 at 7pm 

Kathy Griffin

Stand Up Comedy
Chicago native Kathy Griffin is a multi-faceted performer with a rapid fire wit. She first hit the mainstream consciousness during her four-year stint on the NBC sitcom 'Suddenly Susan,' but is now best known for her hit, Emmy-winning reality show, 'Kathy Griffin: My Life On The D-List,' as well as her annual New Year's Eve hosting gig with Anderson Cooper on CNN.
Chicago; comedian; acress; gay icon; Suddenly Susan; Kathy Griffin: My Life on the D-List; Primetime Emmy Award; Celebrity Mole
www.kathygriffin.net
Price: $45-$125
Event Website: https://tix.carolinatix.org/online/default.asp?doWork::WScontent::loadArticle=Load&BOparam::WScontent::loadArticle::article_id=A9078304-A62C-417E-B206-5ACEC1A7A008&BOparam::WScontent::loadArticle::promocode_access_code=bikinibod
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Fri 8/3/18 at 8pm 

Kenny Wayne Shepherd
With Beth Hart
Blues, Rock
Blues-rock phenom Kenny Wayne Shepherd has logged nearly a quarter-century of recording and touring, sold millions of copies of his recordings, has seven studio albums and a studio disc, and has his own model Fender Stratocaster - and he's still a year shy of 40.
www.kennywayneshepherd.net
Price: $22-$72
Event Website: https://tix.carolinatix.org/online/default.asp?doWork::WScontent::loadArticle=Load&BOparam::WScontent::loadArticle::article_id=F6EB7303-16A7-4CF2-9CAF-706A57D7E014
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Sun 8/5/18 at 7:30pm 

Disney's The Lion King: National Tour

Musical
This acclaimed production is based on the animated Disney movie, but is quite different from the film. From the startling opening, featuring life-sized animal representations taking over the stage to pay tribute to the lion king, this unique theatrical experience tries to make a statement about the cycle of life and death in the wilderness. Thrill to the rhythms of the African Pridelands and an unforgettable score including Elton John and Tim Rice's Oscar-winning song "Can You Feel the Love Tonight" and "Circle of Life."
Mufasa; Elton John; Tim Rice; Circle of Life; Hakuna Matata; performing arts; Broadway
www.lionking.com/tour
Event Website: http://www.ticketsnow.com/InventoryBrowse/TicketList.aspx?PID=2238634
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Wed 8/22/18 at 7:30pm 
 • Thu 8/23/18 at 2pm 
 • Thu 8/23/18 at 7:30pm 
 • Fri 8/24/18 at 8pm 
 • Sat 8/25/18 at 2pm 
 • Sat 8/25/18 at 8pm 
 • Sun 8/26/18 at 1pm 
 • Sun 8/26/18 at 6:30pm 
 • Tue 8/28/18 at 7:30pm 
 • Wed 8/29/18 at 7:30pm 
 • Thu 8/30/18 at 7:30pm 
 • Fri 8/31/18 at 8pm 
 • Sat 9/1/18 at 2pm 
 • Sat 9/1/18 at 8pm 
 • Sun 9/2/18 at 1pm 
 • Sun 9/2/18 at 6:30pm 
 • Tue 9/4/18 at 7:30pm 
 • Wed 9/5/18 at 7:30pm 
 • Thu 9/6/18 at 7:30pm 
 • Fri 9/7/18 at 8pm 
 • Sat 9/8/18 at 2pm 
 • Sat 9/8/18 at 8pm 
 • Sun 9/9/18 at 1pm 
 • Sun 9/9/18 at 6:30pm 

Love Never Dies

Musical
"Love Never Dies," a story of boundless love, full of passion and drama, is the sequel to Andrew Lloyd Webber's "The Phantom of the Opera," one of the most successful musicals of all time. The year is 1907. It is 10 years after his disappearance from the Paris Opera House and the Phantom has escaped to a new life in New York, where he lives among the screaming joyrides and freak shows of Coney Island. In this new, electrically charged world, he has finally found a place for his music to soar, but he has never stopped yearning for his one true love and musical protégée, Christine Daae. Now one of the world's finest sopranos, Christine accepts an invitation to travel from Paris to New York to perform at a renowned opera house. Christine's marriage to Raoul is suffering at the hands of his drinking and gambling, and they desperately need the financial rewards that America can give them. In a final bid to win back Christine's love, the Phantom lures her, Raoul and their young son, Gustave, from Manhattan to the glittering and glorious world of Coney Island - not knowing what's in store for them.
www.loveneverdies.com
Event Website: http://www.ticketsnow.com/InventoryBrowse/TicketList.aspx?PID=2245618
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Tue 9/11/18 at 7:30pm 
 • Wed 9/12/18 at 7:30pm 
 • Thu 9/13/18 at 7:30pm 
 • Fri 9/14/18 at 8pm 
 • Sat 9/15/18 at 2pm 
 • Sat 9/15/18 at 8pm 
 • Sun 9/16/18 at 1:30pm 
 • Sun 9/16/18 at 7pm 

My Favorite Murder

Talks/Lectures, Podcast
Ready yourself for a murder adventure hosted by Karen Kilgariff and Georgia Hardstark, two lifelong fans of true crime stories. In each episode of the podcast, the girls tell each other their favorite tales of murder, and hear hometown crime stories from friends and fans. Check your anxiety at the door, 'cause Karen & Georgia are dying to discuss death.
Event Website: https://tix.carolinatix.org:/online/default.asp?doWork::WScontent::loadArticle=Load&BOparam::WScontent::loadArticle::article_id=5EDED2F0-21DA-4698-A1B9-DF87920429CE
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Sat 9/22/18 at 7pm 

Brian Regan

Stand Up Comedy
Clean can often mean not funny, but in the case of Brian Regan, it means streamlined, creative and enthusiastic. Audiences have been drawn to his howl-worthy comedy, which ranges from profound insights to silly exaggerations. Since his first appearance on "The Late Show With David Letterman" back in 1995, Regan has emerged as a viewer and audience favorite, typically making more than 80 stops a year to sold-out audiences across the country.
clean humor;Opie and Anthony;observational humor
www.brianregan.com/
Event Website: https://tix.carolinatix.org/online/default.asp?doWork::WScontent::loadArticle=Load&BOparam::WScontent::loadArticle::article_id=0C62498F-38A7-47A9-A80A-C50587A5C265
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Thu 9/27/18 at 7:30pm 

Hamilton

Alternative, Punk
Hamilton is an alternative punk band form Kennesaw, Georgia.
Event Website: http://www.ticketsnow.com/InventoryBrowse/TicketList.aspx?PID=2342294
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Wed 10/10/18 at 7:30pm 
 • Thu 10/11/18 at 2pm 
 • Thu 10/11/18 at 7:30pm 
 • Fri 10/12/18 at 8pm 
 • Sat 10/13/18 at 2pm 
 • Sat 10/13/18 at 8pm 
 • Sun 10/14/18 at 1:30pm 
 • Sun 10/14/18 at 7pm 
 • Tue 10/16/18 at 7:30pm 
 • Wed 10/17/18 at 7:30pm 
 • Thu 10/18/18 at 7:30pm 
 • Fri 10/19/18 at 8pm 
 • Sat 10/20/18 at 2pm 
 • Sat 10/20/18 at 8pm 
 • Sun 10/21/18 at 1:30pm 
 • Sun 10/21/18 at 7pm 
 • Tue 10/23/18 at 7:30pm 
 • Wed 10/24/18 at 7:30pm 
 • Thu 10/25/18 at 7:30pm 
 • Fri 10/26/18 at 8pm 
 • Sat 10/27/18 at 2pm 
 • Sat 10/27/18 at 8pm 
 • Sun 10/28/18 at 1:30pm 
 • Sun 10/28/18 at 7pm 
 • Tue 10/30/18 at 7:30pm 
 • Wed 10/31/18 at 7:30pm 
 • Thu 11/1/18 at 2pm 
 • Thu 11/1/18 at 7:30pm 
 • Fri 11/2/18 at 8pm 
 • Sat 11/3/18 at 2pm 
 • Sat 11/3/18 at 8pm 
 • Sun 11/4/18 at 1:30pm