Around Charlotte Things To Do Places To Go People To See Movies log into calendar / register
Search by keyword or venue View Listings For A Day
    space Add Event


Jerald Melberg Gallery


address  625 S. Sharon Amity Rd.
 Charlotte, NC  28211
phone (704) 365-3000
hours Mon.-Fri. 10 am-6pm; Sat. 10 am-4 pm
www.jeraldmelberg.com

Upcoming Events

Brian Rutenberg: Thunderhead

Art Show, Art Talk, Gallery, Painting
Jerald Melberg Gallery is pleased to present Thunderhead, a solo exhibition of new paintings by Brian Rutenberg. With these new oil paintings on linen and paper, the artist returns once again to his meditations on the landscapes of the South Carolina Low Country. This is Rutenberg’s seventh exhibition with the gallery.
brian;rutenberg;jerald;melberg;gallery;art;painting;exhibit
Event Info: (704) 365-3000
Ages: all ages
Event Website: www.jeraldmelberg.com
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Mon 7/16/18 at 10am-6pm 
 • Tue 7/17/18 at 10am-6pm 
 • Wed 7/18/18 at 10am-6pm 
 • Thu 7/19/18 at 10am-6pm 
 • Fri 7/20/18 at 10am-6pm 
 • Sat 7/21/18 at 10am-6pm 

SMOKE: Works of Art by Dennis Lee Mitchell and Steven Spazuk

Art Show, Art Talk, Drawings/Works on Paper, Gallery
Jerald Melberg Gallery is pleased to present SMOKE, a two-person invitational exhibition of work by Dennis Lee Mitchell and Steven Spazuk. Both artists create works on paper and panel purely with smoke from a burning flame. This exhibition marks both Mitchell and Spazuk’s first in the state of North Carolina. Dennis Lee Mitchell lives and works in Washington, D.C. and is a 2016-2017 recipient of a Pollock/Krasner Foundation Grant. His recent works are smoke drawings on paper, beautiful mandalas that resemble organic forms like large-petaled flowers and spiral shells. Mitchell’s work is in the permanent collection of the Illinois State Art Museum, Chicago, the Utah Museum of Fine Arts, Salt Lake City and the Museum Boymans-van Beuningen, Rotterdam. Steven Spazuk lives and works in Montreal, Quebec and has been working in fumage (smoke painting) since 2002. His work is well received, exhibited internationally and has been covered in multiple print and online journals. Spazuk applies smoke from a live flame to thick paper and panels, then employs tools like brushes, feathers or metal scrapers to carve and craft the soot into the final image. His artwork depicts scenes that have a particular poignant relevancy to the issues of our time. Jerald Melberg Gallery will host a free and public lecture by both artists on Saturday, July 29 at 11 a.m.
smoke;jerald;melberg;gallery;art;painting;drawing
Event Info: (704) 365-3000
Ages: all ages
Event Website: www.jeraldmelberg.com/Exhibitions/Exhibitions-Events
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Sat 7/28/18 at 10am-6pm 
 • Mon 7/30/18 at 10am-6pm 
 • Tue 7/31/18 at 10am-6pm 
 • Wed 8/1/18 at 10am-6pm 
 • Thu 8/2/18 at 10am-6pm 
 • Fri 8/3/18 at 10am-6pm 
 • Sat 8/4/18 at 10am-6pm 
 • Mon 8/6/18 at 10am-6pm 
 • Tue 8/7/18 at 10am-6pm 
 • Wed 8/8/18 at 10am-6pm 
 • Thu 8/9/18 at 10am-6pm 
 • Fri 8/10/18 at 10am-6pm 
 • Sat 8/11/18 at 10am-6pm 
 • Mon 8/13/18 at 10am-6pm 
 • Tue 8/14/18 at 10am-6pm 
 • Wed 8/15/18 at 10am-6pm 
 • Thu 8/16/18 at 10am-6pm 
 • Fri 8/17/18 at 10am-6pm 
 • Sat 8/18/18 at 10am-6pm 
 • Mon 8/20/18 at 10am-6pm 
 • Tue 8/21/18 at 10am-6pm 
 • Wed 8/22/18 at 10am-6pm 
 • Thu 8/23/18 at 10am-6pm 
 • Fri 8/24/18 at 10am-6pm 
 • Sat 8/25/18 at 10am-6pm 
 • Mon 8/27/18 at 10am-6pm 
 • Tue 8/28/18 at 10am-6pm 
 • Wed 8/29/18 at 10am-6pm 
 • Thu 8/30/18 at 10am-6pm 
 • Fri 8/31/18 at 10am-6pm 
 • Sat 9/1/18 at 10am-6pm 
 • Mon 9/3/18 at 10am-6pm 
 • Tue 9/4/18 at 10am-6pm 
 • Wed 9/5/18 at 10am-6pm 
 • Thu 9/6/18 at 10am-6pm 
 • Fri 9/7/18 at 10am-6pm 
 • Sat 9/8/18 at 10am-6pm